User Self-Registration

LMS Administrators can configure the login page to include a link to a customized self-registration page. When a new user lands on the login page, they have the option of entering their credentials or clicking on the self-registration page to register into the LMS.

User Self-Registration offers the ability to configure the LMS to permit students to register for LatitudeLearning. This feature can be especially helpful in training environments where marketing efforts are targeted to a population of learners who are not yet participating in the learning management system.

The self-registration page can be configured by the LMS Administrator to include an introduction to the page, along with personalized logos and styles.

There are two types of self-registration options you can engage:

Standard Self-Registration from your Login Page:
With this option, the LMS Administrator may configure the page to include an introduction passage, along with personalized logos and styles. New users will be created with a default position, role, and in the LMS default location. If users enter the required data on the self-registration screen, they may be able to access the LMS. If the LMS is set up with the configuration "User Registration Requires Approval", an Administrator will need to authorize the registration prior to the user being able to log into LatitudeLearning. If this configuration is turned off, then users have immediate access to their LatitudeLearning home page. An example of the standard self-registration page is below.


Advanced Self-Registration and User Registration Controls:
With this option, LMS Administrators will engage with LatitudeLearning to customize the self-registration toolset. Self-registration can be configured to allow new registrants to define their own position, role, and even location.

Either method of self-registration can be bundled with eCommerce and Subscription functionality, which creates an automated way to provide content to new users on demand with a pay-as-you-go user experience.

With any form of User Self-Registration, the LMS Administrator can elect to have Managers approve self-registration attempts. Being able to control who registers allows Managers to participate in keeping the active users within the user license subscription limit. If there is a need to increase the number of active user licenses due to self-registration or expanding use of the learning management system, contact your account manager.

When configuring a location there are four settings that affect User Self-Registration:

  • Default # Active Days for Users - if this is set to blank, new registrants have access to LatitudeLearning perpetually. If this value is set to any number greater than 7, new registrants are denied access to the LMS after that number of days.
  • Maximum Users Allowed for This Location - if this value is set to blank, there is no limit to the number of users that can register for the location. If the value is set, the number of users is capped. This can be used to limit the number of self-registrants to a specific location.
  • User Type - this toggle button allows the previous attribute to be set either by (a) total active users or (b) total registered users which includes active & inactive users together.
  • Self-Registration Open Date & Self Registration Close Date - date values can be entered which will open self-registration for a defined window of time. If a value exists, only attempts made to self-register within the window of opportunity will result in a new user account creation.

With these flexible controls, along with the ability to require self-registration approval, distributed user creation can become a highly automated and controlled learning management process.