Quick Profile Update Tool

 
 
The Quick Profile Update tool provides authorized administrators a streamlined way to conduct user account management tasks, such as updating primary profile assignments or deactivating users. Because standard Edit User capabilities are restricted to Portal Administrators, this tool also allows the extension of user maintenance capabilities to others, specifically those users with the Administrator or Instructor roles.

This document describes how to use the Quick Profile Update tool, once the feature has been enabled in your LMS.


Modifying User Accounts with Quick Profile Update

1. From the left navigation menu, select Users => Quick Profile Update.

2. On the Quick User Search page, search for users you wish to update, either by Location or Username.  

  • Search by Location: Enter the Location Code, if known, or click Select a Location to launch the Organization Picker. Searching by location returns all the users associated with that location. Working from the list, you can update users one at a time.
  • Search by User: Enter the Username, if known, or click Choose a User to launch the User Picker. Searching by user will only return a single user record.


3. Click Search. The users meeting your selection criteria are displayed.

4. In the Action column of the displayed results, select from the following account management options:

  • Edit User Profiles -- Open the user's current profile information for review or manual modification
  • Update Primary Assignments -- Create new primary organization, position, or role assignments by filling out a simple form. Further instruction below.
  • Deactivate User -- End date a user's account and all associated profiles, rendering the user inactive with the click of a button.

Example of Quick Profile Update search results
  

Update Primary Assignments

The Quick Profile Update form opens in a new window and displays the current primary profile information for the selected individual. Make changes as described below.  

Quick Profile update page.

 

  • New Location: Enter the new Location Code or click Select Location to open the Organization Picker. If the changes only involve the position or role, it is not necessary to alter this entry.
  • Position: Select the appropriate position from the dropdown list, if a change is required.
  • Role: Select the appropriate role from the dropdown list, if a change is required.
  • Click Submit. The system will indicate if the update was successful. You can close the window and return to the search results to continue making changes, as needed. 

The Effect of Making Quick Profile Updates

Use of this tool has the following effects on updated users:

  • The original profile data (previous location, position, and/or role) is end-dated with the current date. 
  • The new profile assignments are made Primary. 
  • The modified user receives a message titled "LMS User Profile Updated" that lets them know a system administrator has modified their account. Portal administrators have the ability to modify or inactivate the system default messages for this event under Site Management => Edit Messages. The message name is "User Profile Updated - Quick Profile Update".
  • All incomplete courses (e.g. scheduled or launched) in which the user was enrolled at the previous location are cancelled.  Because training history is tied to a user’s location assignment, enrollment information is not transferred from an inactive location profile to the new one. This automated process accounts for the fact that training requirements at the user’s new organization may vary, and a new manager may want to re-approve the employee’s enrollment in a course.

    Screenshot of user history with auto-cancelled transcripts.

    Note: Users are notified of course cancellations, but the message/email will not indicate why. Exploring the user’s training history will reveal a “Cancel [date] by LMS Automated Processing” message. The completion date shown represents the date enrollment was cancelled.