Impersonate Others

User Impersonation is a unique and powerful troubleshooting capability provided in LatitudeLearning. By default it is only available to users assigned the Portal Administrator role and is generally used for...

  • Advanced end-user support – Temporarily “become” any LMS user with a subordinate Role assignment, taking on their rights and oversight based on Role, Position and Organization assignments tied to the target user’s profile. You can also transact activities on another user’s behalf  (such as launching a course, running a report, viewing subordinate employees, and checking pending approvals) in order to troubleshoot issues and provide first-line user support.
  • Previewing and testing content or navigation – Impersonate users with different Role, Position, and Organization assignments, and then navigate the LMS through the eyes of that user to ensure the account setup and system is functioning properly.
To impersonate a subordinate user, you must first locate their account. From the left navigation menu, select Users > Search Users. Enter search criteria to narrow the search results, or leave all fields empty and click Search to yield all active users in the organization.

Under the “Action” column next to the selected user, click Impersonate. There are two reasons the Impersonate button may not be visible to an administrator:

  1. The user has an Inactive status.
  2. The user is a Portal Administrator and cannot be impersonated by someone with the same rights.


On the Search page, if you know the user’s ID, type it in the Username field and click Impersonate. This forgoes the search request and routes the administrator directly to the selected user’s Home page.


  
A pop-up box will appear to confirm your action and notify you that the LMS is logging all activity in the background while impersonation is underway. If the user has profiles tied to multiple locations, select the desired location from the Impersonate at Location drop-down list and then click OK.



You will be taken to the user's Home page and their information is displayed in the upper right corner. Note: During impersonation, the system will function as if you were logged in with the user’s credentials. Work with caution while impersonating others.



When you are finished, click REMOVE IMPERSONATION at the top of the window to return to your own profile and functionality.