The self registration process uses Default Position and Default Location assignments defined in the Site Management > LMS Information page to create a new User Account and Profile. As with all Add User processes, the new user is automatically assigned the Student role.
The standard self registration feature accepts all submissions, provides new users instant access to the LMS, and sends Username and Password credentials via email.
Some administrators prefer to monitor self registration requests to avoid unrestricted access or prevent too many users from joining their LMS. Portal Administrators can use Site Management > LMS Information to update the flag that determines if new user registrations require approval.
With this option enabled, new users will see the following message upon submitting their registration form: “Thank you for registering. Your registration is pending approval. You will be notified by email once it is approved.”
The LMS also automatically emails the appropriate manager, notifying him or her of the user access request. Administrators must then log in and process these requests by selecting, from the left navigation menu, Approvals > Approve Pending Self Registrations. This is also available under the Navigation page icon for Approvals or from the My Team Approvals link.
Customize the Self Registration Form
There is a small area at the top of the form which can be customized under Site Management > Edit HTML using the register_page file.
Disable the Self Registration Feature
Portal administrators who prefer not to offer the Self Registration option to new users can contact Latitude Learning to fully disable the feature.
Note: Portal administrators who want to add a large number of users, but are not interested in offering the self registration option can consider using the User Import tool.