Self-Enrollment

LMS Administrators can configure the login page to include a link to a customized self-registration page. When a new user lands on the login page, they have the option of entering their credentials or clicking into the self-registration page to register into the LMSl. User Self-Enrollment is the ability to configure the LatitudeLearning to permit students to register. This feature can be especially helpful in training environments where marketing efforts are targeted to a population of learners who are not yet participating in the learning management system.


The self-registration page can be configured by the portal administrator to include an introduction to the page as well as personalized logos and styles.

There are two types of self-registration options you can engage:

Standard Self Registration from your Login Page
With this option, the LMS Administrator may configure the page to include an introduction passage, as well as personalized logos and styles. New users will be created with the default position Role and in the default location of the LMS. If users enter the required data on the self-registration screen, they may be able to access LatitudeLearning. If the LMS is set up with the configuration “User Registration Requires Approval,” an Administrator will need to authorize the registration prior to the user being able to log into LatitudeLearning. If this configuration is turned off, then users have immediate access to their LatitudeLearning home page.

Advanced Self-Registration and User Registration Controls
With this option, LMS Administrators will engage with LatitudeLearning to customize the self-registration toolset. Self-registration can be configured to allow new registrants to define their own position, role, and even location.

Either method of Self-Enrollment can be bundled with eCommerce and Subscription functionality. Creating an automated way to provide content to new users on demand with a pay-as-you-go user experience.

With any form of user self-registration, the LMS Administrator can elect to have Managers approve every Self-Enrollment attempts. Being able to control who registers, Managers participate in keeping the active users within the user license subscription limit. If there is a need to increase the number of active user licenses due to Self-Enrollment or expanding use of the learning management system, contact your account manager.

When configuring a location there are four settings that affect user Self-Enrollment:

  • Default # Active Days for Users – if this is set to blank, new registrants have access to LatitudeLearning perpetually. If this value is set to any number greater than 7, new registrants are denied access to LatitudeLearning after that number of days.
  • Maximum Users Allowed for This Location – if this value is set to blank, there is no limit to the number of users that can register for the location. If a value is set, the number of users is capped. This can be used to limit the number of Self-Enrollments to a specific location.
  • User Type – this toggle button allows the previous attribute to be set either by (a) total active users or (b) total registered users which includes active & inactive users together.
  • Self-Registration Open Date & Self Registration Close Date – date values can be entered which will open Self-Enrollment for a defined window of time. If a value exists, only attempts made to self-register within the window of opportunity will result in a new user account creation.

With these flexible controls, along with the ability to require Self-Enrollment approval, distributed user creation can become a highly automated – and highly controlled – learning management process.